

College of Agriculture,

Acharya Narendra Deva University of Agriculture and Technology, Kumarganj, Ayodhya, Uttar Pradesh



Prof. Pratibha Singh Dean

Overview of College:

The college of Agriculture was established to meet out the education of agriculture and allied sectors in the 26 districts belonging to seven revenue divisions viz; Faizabad (Now Ayodhya), Basti, Devipatan, Gorakhpur, Varanasi, Azamgarh and Vindhyachal Dham of Eastern U.P. under three agro-climatic zones *i.e.*, North Eastern Plain Zone (NEPZ), Eastern Plain Zone (EPZ) and Vindhyan Zone (VZ). In the beginning, on 15.01.1974, the foundation stone of university was laid at Masodha Faizabad (Now Ayodhya). However, on 10th October 1975 the Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor and Government of Uttar Pradesh decided to locate the main campus at Kumarganj instead of Masodha. The College of Agriculture, one of the oldest college in the University was started in February 1977 under the leadership of Dr. Kirti Singh as the first Dean of Agriculture. The first meeting of the Academic Council was held on February 12th, 1977. Since then 20 departments have been created in the College of Agriculture. The under-graduate teaching programme with 24 students was started in October, 1978 in a borrowed building at Extension Training Centre, Dabhasemar, Faizabad. In July 1980, the students were shifted from there to the main campus at Kumarganj, and arrangements were made for their stay in newly constructed residential staff quarters. In 1983, the teaching programmes were shifted to B wing of newly constructed main building of the College of Agriculture. The Postgraduate programmes in four disciplines viz., Agronomy, Genetics & Plant Breeding, Horticulture and Vegetable Science was started in 1981-82 with 28 students. Later on, some more disciplines were added like Entomology in 1977, Plant Pathology in 1978, Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry in 1978, Agricultural Statistics in 1980, Agricultural Economics in 1982, Agricultural Biochemistry in 1983, Agricultural Meteorology in 1996, Extension Education in 1996, Plant Molecular Biology and Genetic Engineering in 2004 and Agribusiness Management in 2021. The doctoral programme was also started in the disciplines of Agronomy, Genetics & Plant Breeding, Horticulture and Agricultural Economics from 2nd semester of 1982-83 session with 10 students. The College encompasses several departments at present covering disciplines like; Agronomy, Genetics & Plant Breeding, Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry, Entomology, Plant Pathology, Crop Physiology, Agricultural Economics, Extension Education, Agricultural Meteorology, Agricultural Biochemistry, Agricultural Statistics, Plant Molecular Biology and Genetic Engineering and Agribusiness Management. The main building consists of four wings including 13 separate departments and 6 lecture theatres and 1 auditorium. Besides, four new lecture halls were built with recent infrastructure facilities of sound system and multimedia. Faculty of colleges takes active part in teaching, research and extension activities relevant to their specialization thus strive to fulfil the goals and missions of the University.

The University has adopted the semester system and follow ICAR 5th Dean's Committee recommendations for Undergraduate and 19th BSMA (Broad Subject Matter Area) 2021 recommendations for Postgraduate and Ph.D. Each semester being of 18 weeks duration. This college houses 13 departments and 1 section as follows:

- **1.** Agronomy
- 2. Agricultural Biochemistry
- 3. Agribusiness Management
- 4. Agricultural Economics
- **5.** Agricultural Meteorology
- 6. Agricultural Statistics
- 7. Crop Physiology
- **8.** Entomology
- 9. Extension Education
- **10.** Genetics and Plant Breeding
- 11. Plant Molecular Biology and Genetic Engineering
- 12. Plant Pathology
- 13. Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry
- 14. Seed Science and Technology (Section)